Steering Committee

The SC INBRE Steering Committee is comprised of the the Principal Investigators from the participating institutions and other administrative leadership. The committee meets every six weeks to evaluate progress and direct performance towards project goals.

Comprehensive Research Institutions

University of South Carolina (Lead Institution)

Dr. Edie Goldsmith, Program Director

Professor of Cell Biology & Anatomy, Biomedical Science Graduate Director, Director of the Postdoctoral Academic Career Development Program(803) 216-3809 | Email

Dr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek, Program Coordinator, INBRE III

Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology(803) 216-3419 | Email

Dr. Holly LaVoie, Program Coordinator, INBRE IV

Professor of Cell Biology & Anatomy(803) 216-3419 | Email

Dr. Homayoun Valafar, Bioinformatics Core Director

Professor, Associate Chair of Research, Associate Infrastructure Director (Visualization), Computer Science & Engineering, Biomedical Engineering(803) 777-2404 | Email

Dr. Wayne Carver, SC INBRE  @ USC Institutional PI

Professor and Chair, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology and Anatomy(803) 733-3214 | Email

Dr. Prakash Nagarkatti

Vice President for Research, Carolina Distinguished Professor(803) 777-5458 | Email

Clemson University

Dr. Martine LaBerge

Professor and Chair of Bioengineering; Executive Director, CUBEInC(864) 656-5557 | Email

Medical University of South Carolina

Dr. Roger Markwald

Professor and Chair, Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy(803) 792-5891 | Email

Primarily Undergraduate Institutions

Claflin University

Dr. Derrick Swinton

Interim Dean of School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Chair of Chemistry Department(803) 535-5698 | Email

Coastal Carolina University

Dr. Paul Richardson, Program Director

Professor of Biochemistry, Department of Chemistry and Physics (843) 349-2598 | Email 

College of Charleston

Dr. James Deavor, Program Director

Associate Dean, School of Sciences & Mathematics(843) 953-8095 | Email

Converse College

Dr. Neval Erturk, Program Director

Professor of Biology and Chair of Biology, Chemistry & Physics Department (864) 596-9210 | Email

Francis Marion University

Dr. Ann M. Stoeckmann, Program Director

Department of Biology(843) 661-1399 | Email

Furman University

Dr. John Wheeler, Program Director

Associate Provost for Integrative Science(864) 294-3371 | Email

Dr. John Kaup

SC INBRE-sponsored Research Experiences for Teachers Coordinator, Coordinator of Science Education, Office of Integrative Research in the Sciences(864) 294-3773 | Email

Presbyterian University

Dr. Stuart Gordon

Assistant Professor of Biology(864) 833-8405 | Email

South Carolina State University

Dr. Judith Salley, Program Director

Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences(803) 536-8876 | Email

Dr. Rahina Mahtab

Associate Professor,  Chemistry Area Program Coordinator, Department of Biological & Physical Sciences(803) 536-8876 | (803) 516-4536 | Email

USC Aiken

Dr. Bill Jackson, Program Director

Professor and Chair, Immunology, Department of Biology & Geology(803) 641-3601 | Email

Winthrop University

Dr. Robin Lammi, Program Director

Professor, Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences(803) 323-4946 | Email

Dr. Jay Hanna

Professor, Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences(803) 323-4933 | Email

Non-voting Members

Jill Francisco Morales 

Senior Sponsored Program Administrator, UofSC Sponsored Awards Management, (803) 777-4857, Email

John Clarkson, MPH

SC INBRE Program Manager, (803) 216-3469, Email

Cyndy Buckhaults

SC INBRE Communications Manager, (803) 546-4569, Email