A Look Back

SC INBRE’s History

In an 1897 poem by Rudyard Kipling, he wrote these words, “Lest we forget.”

SC INBRE is ever changing, ever growing. In a series entitled, “Look Back” which was featured in our weekly newsletters, we highlighted different events from our rich and dynamic history. Lest we forget the past, those articles are being preserved here. A look back at where we've been while we look forward to an even greater future!


2001 was the establishment of the SC Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network – SC-BRIN (precursor to INBRE), funded by NIH with a $6M budget. Lead PI was Dr. John Baynes from the University of South Carolina Department of Chemistry. Member institutions were UofSC/School of Medicine, Clemson, MUSC, College of Charleston, Furman, and SC State University. Bruce Dunlap was the director of the Training and Mentoring Core. SC-BRIN also co-sponsored activities with the SC Academy of Sciences.

Read more (page 4)


In Fall 2003, Dr. Bill Jackson at USCA hired a student named Zachary Wilson with funds from Jackson’s SC BRIN FUTURE (Faculty & Undergrad Training Using Research Experiences) award. This photo shows Jackson and Wilson who received USCA’s Outstanding Biology Student of the Year for 2005-06.

Where is Wilson now? He went on to do postgrad work at the Medical College of GA and has been a Senior Biologist at Eli Lilly for more than 10 years (according to LinkedIn).

Read more (page 4)


Our very first Science Symposium. Excerpt from the letter from the Program Director, Dr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek, dated Jan 18, 2008:

“The purpose of the symposium is to promote interactions among INBRE-supported investigators while allowing the EAC members to see and evaluate the full range of INBRE-supported research in South Carolina ... Symposium attendance includes INBRE target faculty and mentored undergraduate students, as well as Collaborative Research Program (CRP) awardees, Postdoctoral Academic Career Development (PACD) scholars, and other associated institutional personnel.”

Our 2018 Science Symposium included talks by recipients of our Developmental Research Project Program and Bioinformatics Pilot Project Program, plus presentations by our Research Experiences for Teachers participants, over 90 student posters and attended by over 200 students, teachers, faculty and interested public.

2008 Symposium booklet

2018 Symposium magazine


In 2009, like in 2019, we were preparing to submit a renewal proposal.

Ten years ago, SC INBRE consisted of 7 member institutions: Clemson, UofSC, and MUSC, Claflin, College of Charleston, Furman and Winthrop.

In 2019, when we submit our renewal for INBRE IV, it will be for 14 member institutions: Clemson, UofSC and MUSC, plus Benedict (mentored, NEW!), Coastal Carolina, College of Charleston, Columbia College (mentored, NEW!), Converse, Francis Marion, Furman, Presbyterian, USC Aiken, USC Upstate (NEW!), Winthrop, plus 4 outreach institutions Anderson, The Citadel (NEW!), Claflin (alumni) and SCSU (alumni).

View slide show presentation from 2009


The National Institutes of Health (NIH) through the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) has awarded $18.9 million for the renewal of the South Carolina IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence (SC INBRE) to support biomedical research and infrastructure in South Carolina. The grant will fund the program for five years beginning September 1, 2020 and is the fourth consecutive renewal of SC INBRE.

With this renewal, the SC INBRE Program grows to a statewide network of 14 member institutions, two outreach institutions and two alumni institutions. Member and outreach/alumni institutions incorporate South Carolina’s three Comprehensive Research Universities and 15 of the state’s Primarily Undergraduate Institutions. Read more


  • 2001-2005: Dr. John Baynes, BRIN Program Director

  • 2006-June 30, 2017: Dr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek, Program Director

  • July 1, 2015-June 30, 2017: Dr. Edie Goldsmith, Program Coordinator

  • September 3, 2016-present: Cyndy Buckhaults, Communications Manager (part-time 2016-April 5, 2020; full-time April 6, 2020-present)

  • September 16, 2016-present: John Clarkson, Program Manager

  • July 1, 2017-present: Dr. Edie Goldsmith, Program Director

  • July 1, 2017-August 31, 2020: Dr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek, Program Coordinator

  • September 1, 2020-present: Dr. Holly LaVoie, Program Coordinator