Steering Committee

The SC INBRE Steering Committee is comprised of the the Principal Investigators from the participating institutions and other administrative leadership. The committee meets every six weeks to evaluate progress and direct performance towards project goals.

Comprehensive Research Universities (CRUs)

University of South Carolina 

(Lead Institution)

Dr. Edie Goldsmith

Program Director

Dr. Holly LaVoie

Program Coordinator

John Clarkson

Program Manager

Cyndy Buckhaults

Communications Manager

Dr. Wayne Carver

Institution PI

Dr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek

Emeritus: Former Program PD/PC

Clemson University

Dr. Martine LaBerge

Institution PI

Medical University of South Carolina

Dr. Jeremy Barth

Institution PI

Primarily Undergraduate Institutions (PUI)

Benedict College

Dr. Samir Raychoudhury 

Institution PI

Coastal Carolina University

Dr. Bryan Wakefield

Institution PI

College of Charleston

Dr. Marcello Forconi

Institution PIs
CofC INBRE Website

Columbia College

Dr. Adrienne Oxley

Institution PI

Converse College

Dr. Neval Erturk

Institution PI
Converse College INBRE Website

Francis Marion University

Dr. Ann Stoeckmann

Institution PI

Furman University

Dr. John Wheeler

Institution PI
Furman INBRE Website

Dr. John Kaup

SC INBRE Research Experiences for Teachers (RET) Coordinator

Presbyterian College

Dr. Stuart Gordon 

Institution PI

UofSC Aiken

Dr. Bill Jackson

Institution PI
USC Aiken INBRE-PROBe Website


Dr. Joshua Ruppel

Institution PI
USC Upstate INBRE Website

Winthrop University

Dr. Robin Lammi

Institution PI
Winthrop INBRE Website

Graduate/Outreach Institutions

Claflin University

Dr. Derrick Swinton

Institution PI

South Carolina State University

Dr. Judith Salley

Institution PI

Outreach Institutions

Anderson University

Dr. Diana Ivankovic

Institution PI

The Citadel

Dr. Dena Garner

Institution PI