SC EPSCoRE/IDeA: About | Funding Opportunities

The Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) and Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) are federal-state-university partnerships designed to increase extramural research support for those states who have historically received low levels of federal R&D funds. South Carolina EPSCoR/IDeA leverages federal and state support to build research infrastructure; infuse research into education; provide opportunities for diverse groups of institutions, students, faculty, and disciplines in science and technology; and increase collaboration among key stakeholders of the state's science and technology enterprise. Since 1990, SC EPSCoR/IDeA funds have enabled the hire of more than 95 junior, tenure-track faculty members in science and technology at five South Carolina colleges and universities. These junior faculty complement existing senior scientists, forming research teams that pioneer approaches to address challenges in science and society.

EPSCoR program funding is offered by five federal agencies: Department of Energy, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, and the United State Department of Agriculture. The IDeA program in South Carolina is comprised of the INBRE program and the COBRE program and is funded by the National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

SC EPSCoR/IDeA encourages collaborative and complementary research among the state's three PhD granting institutions – Clemson University, the Medical University of South Carolina, and the University of South Carolina – and predominately undergraduate institutions including Furman University, Claflin University, the College of Charleston, Winthrop University, and South Carolina State University.

For information, contact:

April Heyward, MRA
Program Manager, SC EPSCoR/IDeA Program
1000 Catawba Street | Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 733-9068
| Web